Mar 122012
 March 12, 2012

louisiana marijuanaLouisiana Marijuana Policy

As you will see below, Louisiana has some pretty hardcore marijuana laws. Due to Louisiana’s geographical location and ports, it has been a smuggling route since before America was founded. Combine that with decades of prohibition, and you have a breeding ground for reefer madness. Below are Louisiana’s current marijuana laws, courtesy of Louisiana NORML:

Decriminalized? — No.

Possession of any amount (first offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.

Possession of any amount (second offense) is a felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $2,000 fine.

Possession of any amount (third or subsequent offense) is a felony, punishably by up to 20 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Note — law enforcement can charge you with intent to distribute if they feel you possess more than a personal amount.

Possession within 1,000 feet of a school, church, or public house is a felony, punishable by a minimum sentence of half the related prison sentence.

Distributing or cultivating less than 60lbs is a felony, punishable by 5-30 years in prison, and a $50,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating 60-2,000lbs is a felony, punishable by 5-30 years in prison, and a $50,000-100,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating 2,000-10,000lbs is a felony, punishable by 10-40 years in prison, and a $100,000-400,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating more than 10,000lbs is a felony, punishable by 25-40 years in prison, and a $400,000-1,000,000 fine.

Distributing to a minor who is 3 years or younger than the offender is a felony, resulting in double the related penalties.

Distributing within 1,000 feet of a school, or specified area, is a felony, punishable by a mandatory prison sentence of ½ the related penalty.

Possession or sale of paraphernalia (first offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.

Possession or sale of paraphernalia (second offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail, and a $1,000 fine.

Possession or sale of paraphernalia (third or subsequent offense) is a misdemeanor or felony (up to the judge), and is punishable by 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Louisiana is one of the last states to have a Marijuana Tax Stamp Law. Essentially, in order to possess the marijuana, you have to have a stamp. However, you only get the stamp when you are already in possession of the marijuana, which makes in you in violation. This act is illegal, but until it is challenged, it will remain on the books. A similar law was enacted at the Federal level and later found unconstitutional.

Medical Program? — No.

Want to help change marijuana laws in Louisiana? Below are some good places to get started, via our Louisiana activism page:

Louisiana NORML
318-918-7028

Americans for Safe Access

Marijuana Policy Project

About Johnny Green

Johnny Green is a marijuana activist from Oregon. He has a Bachelor's Degree in Public Policy. Follow Johnny Green on Facebook and Twitter. Also, feel free to email any concerns.
  • http://www.facebook.com/davidlucito Dave Lucito

    You missed a few statutes, including some affirmative defenses.

    http://legalizelouisiana.com/la-cannabis-law/

  • DisgruntledWeedsmoker

    I smoke weed and I’m from Louisiana, as well as pretty much every single person I know. I will keep smoking until I die, I’d rather kill myself then go to jail for some bullshit weed charge. FUCK anyone whose trying to make marijuana illlegal, I’ll do what I please in the “Land of the Free” ha what a fucking joke America