Marijuana Policy In Wyoming
Wyoming is the least populated state in the country, but I guarantee there are still quite a few marijuana consumers in Wyoming. If you are in Wyoming, you need to be educated about the laws and policies that you are governed by, so that you can get outraged by the lack of logic in the law, and from there make positive change. Below are the current Wyoming laws, courtesy of Wyoming NORML:
Decriminalized? — No.
Being under the influence of marijuana in public is a misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail and a $100 fine.
Possession of 3 oz or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Possession of 3 oz or more is a felony, punishable by 5 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Possession within 500 feet of a school adds $500 to the related fine.
There is possible diversion for first offense.
Cultivation of any amount is a misdemeanor, punishable by 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. However, Wyoming has been known to add intent to distribute charges if it is over a ‘personal amount,’ which is up to the cop.
Distribution of any amount is a felony, punishable by 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Distributing any amount to a minor who is three years younger than the offender is a felony, doubling the jail time.
Distribution within 500 feet of a school is a felony, punishable by a mandatory 2 year sentence in prison and a $1,000 fine.
Subsequent offenses can result in double penalties in both categories.
Medical Program? — No.
Now that you know the laws, get active in the marijuana movement! Below are some great places to get started, via our Wyoming activism page:
Wyoming Marijuana Policy Project
Wyoming Americans for Safe Access
Wyoming Students for Sensible Drug Policy
Wyoming NORML Chapters