- The Weed Blog https://www.theweedblog.com

Marijuana Policy In Mississippi

0
Share.

mississippi marijuanaMississippi Marijuana Policy

Mississippi is the home of the federal hypocritical medical marijuana garden at Old Miss. It blows my mind that the feds are supporting medical marijuana research in Mississippi, yet won’t allow the citizens of Mississippi to have medical marijuana…Below are the current marijuana laws in Mississippi, courtesy of Mississippi NORML:

Decriminalized? — Kinda. Possession of 30 grams or less (first offense) is a misdemeanor, punishable by a $100-250 fine only. There is no jail time; however there will be a criminal charge on the offender’s record.

Possession of 30 grams or less in a motor vehicle (except the trunk) is a misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Possession of 30 grams (second offense) or up between 30-250 grams is a felony, punishable by 3 years in prison and a $3,000 fine.

Possession of 250-500 grams is a felony, punishable by 2-8 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.

Possession of 500 grams to 5 kg is a felony, punishable by 6-24 years in prison and a $500,000 fine.

Possession of 5 kg or more is a felony, punishable by 10-30 years in prison and a $1,000,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating less than 1 oz is a felony, punishable by 3 years in prison and a $3,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating 1 oz to 1 kg is a felony, punishable by 20 years in prison and a $30,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating 1 kg to 10 lbs is a felony, punishable by 30 years in prison and up to a $1,000,000 fine.

Distributing or cultivating more than 10 lbs is a felony, punishable by life without parole and a fine to be determined by the judge.

Distributing any amount to a minor is a felony, resulting in double the penalties in both categories of the related felony(s).

Distributing or cultivating within 1,500 feet of a school, church, or other specified area is a felony, punishable by double the penalties in both categories of the related felony(s).

Subsequent marijuana offenses double the penalties in both categories.

Any conviction results in suspended driving privileges for 6 months.

Possession of paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by a $500 fine and up to 6 months in jail. However, paraphernalia charges are dropped if it is accompanied by a possession of less than 30 grams charge.

Medical Program? — No.

Want to help bring marijuana reform to Mississippi? Below are some good places to start, via our Mississippi activism page:

University of Mississippi Norml Chapter
http://umnorml.blogspot.com/

Mississippi Marijuana Policy Project
http://www.mpp.org/states/mississippi/

Mississippi Americans for Safe Access
http://www.safeaccessnow.org/article.php?id=255

Share.

About Author