It’s about time Texas started this process. Personal possession of marijuana is the least harm causing activity a person can participate in. From hailmaryjane.com:
A few days ago Rep Harold Dutton Jr (D-Houston) introduced House Bill 548 which seeks to decriminalize possession of under an ounce of marijuana from a class B misdemeanor to to a class C misdemeanor. This might seem like a small change, but the charges change from up to $2000 in fines and up to 6 months in jail to $500 in fines, and no jail time. If you’re pinched with over an ounce the charge would still be a class B misdemeanor. Read on to find out how this affects the Lone Star state.
If you’re carrying over 4 ounces of the green delight, they would go with a class A misdemeanor, but the real change is small amounts, and if you’re carrying over quarter pound (4 oz) then your probably not smoking recreationally. Remember Bill Murray in What About Bob, “baby steps, baby steps.”
No word on Abbot, Texas born Willie Nelson’s involvement in the Bill, but you can be sure he’s carrying well over 4 ounces, so the country crooner probably wouldn’t be affected. Let’s hope he stay’s away from state troopers still.